South Africans nominated to International Commission on Occupational Health (ICOH), 2018 to 2021

Claudina Nogueira (Vice President nomination)

BSc, BSc (Hons), MSc (Medical Biochemistry) – University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; BEBOH (UK) Modules in Occupational Hygiene.


Claudina has worked in the broad occupational health field for the past 27 years in various capacities, and is currently employed as a contract Project/Data Manager in the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Pretoria, South Africa. Research interests include metal toxicity, chemical exposures, mineral dusts and fibres, molecular epidemiology and toxicology, education and training in occupational and environmental health, and occupational health and safety in the mining sector. Current affiliations: ICOH Board Member (2012-2015; 2015-2018); Member and Secretary of ICOH Working Group on Occupational Infectious Agents (WG OIA); Member of ICOH Scientific Committee on Mining Occupational Safety and Health (SC MinOSH); ExCo Member of the SA Society of Occupational Medicine (SASOM); Council member of the Southern African Institute for Occupational Hygiene (SAIOH); and Board member of Workplace Health Without Borders (WHWB).


Louwna Pretorius (Board Member nomination)

BSocSc (Hons): general/midwifery/psychiatry – University of the Free State, South Africa; qualifications in Community Health Nursing, Nursing Education, Occupational Health Nursing and Health Services Management.


Louwna is employed as the National Occupational Health Services (Safety, Health, and Environmental) Manager at Corobrik, Edenvale, South Africa. She has been actively involved in the industry for over 30 years. Her main responsibilities include facilitation of learning, auditing and consulting on occupational safety/health/environment as well as the implementation of management systems as part of an integrated SHE approach (OHSAS 18001, ISO 14001). She represented the South African Society of Occupational Health Nursing Practitioners (SASOHN) as National Educational Representative (1996-1999; 2002-2005), as President (1999-2002), and served on the ICOH Scientific Committee on Occupational Health Nursing (SCOHN) executive as Secretary/ Vice Chairperson and Chairperson: 2009-2015). She was a Member of the SA Nursing Council (SANC – 2003-2008) and is a founder Board Member of the Academy of Nursing of South Africa (ANSA – 2011- 2016).

If you receive ballot papers, please support the South Africa ICOH member nominations. For more information, please see:

Udacity Feedback
No tests loaded
Download this Article


Email address
Forgot password?